This article provides an overview of how to create and manage users and groups in Tribe.
Create new groups and add users
Organization Owners create new Groups through the Organization Admin menu. To access, follow these steps:
- Navigate to Tribe.
- Click on your user icon to access Tribe administrator options.
- Click Organization Admin.
- Click on Groups.
- Click Create a new Group.
When you create a new Group, you are asked to define the Membership Mode for that Group - this determines how users are added to the Group and how the Group's membership is managed:
Users are be added via a Group invite link; the link can be emailed or posted for users to follow and join.
Users are mapped based on an existing Group membership in the Intellum platform. Intellum groups are added through a Tribe Organization's
Properties - by an Organization Owner. Users may need to log out and log back in to Tribe be able to see the new Group.
When users are added to a Tribe Group, they can then access Tribe through the Apps Launcher.
As an Organization Owner, you have access to the Members, Properties, Analytics, and Flagged content of every Group within your Tribe Organization.
As a Group Owner, you have access to these items for only the Groups you've been assigned to.
A listing of the members of a Group - if the Group's membership mode was set to Invite Only, you'll find the invite link in the Members tab.
Note: users do not appear in a Group's Members tab until they successfully log in to Tribe for the first time.
A Group's Properties give you access to:
- Upload or Update the Group's Icon - visible to user in the streams list
- Upload or Update the Group's Cover Image - visible to user on the Tribe Activities page.
- Name - the Group's name
- Description - a short summary of the Group's purpose or focus
- Sticky Note - a note pinned to the top of a Group's feed
- Posting Restrictions
- Enable the Only Owners property to restrict new posts to Group Owners. Group Members can comment on posts, but have no access to create new posts.
- Hide Activities - If enabled, activities that are older than the defined time period will no longer be accessible in the feed.
- Delete Activities - If enabled, activities that are older than the defined time period will be permanently deleted.
- Review, or add new, Owners to the Group.
- Set the default notification settings for new users in the Group. Default settings can be:
- When I Am Mentioned
Click Save when you make changes to any properties in Tribe.
If any Activities, Comments, or Answers have been flagged by users, the corresponding content will appear here alongside the name of the user who flagged it.
Learn more about Tribe:
Tribe: Learner Experience
Tribe is a secure, invitation-only, social media app with features that encourage connections between your learners. Tribe gives you the space to ask questions and share ideas — or articles, photos, videos, favorite new music, and so much more! This path gives a breakdown of how to use and navigate Tribe and Tribe Chat as a learner.
Did this article help?
Let us know by leaving a star rating or review at the top of this article.