Skip to main content

Outline

To receive notifications from Tribe directly to your browser, you have the ability to enable browser notifications. This feature is useful in ensuring that you're up to date with the new messages and announcements.

In this article, we will go over how you can enable and manage browser notifications.


Enable browser notifications

When you log into your Tribe account for the first time, you will have the option to enable notifications within your browser.

Alternatively, to enable notifications at the browser level outside of Tribe, enter your organization's Tribe address in your browser URL bar. From there, you can access the browser's settings to enable notifications. As this process might differ depending on which browser you use, you can refer to the below guides on enabling browser notifications for websites below:

Manage Browser Notifications in Chrome

Manage Browser Notifications in Safari

Manage Browser Notifications in Firefox

In the event you would like to disable browser notifications, this action needs to be taken at the browser level. For steps on how to accomplish this, you can refer to the above resources on managing website notifications within your browser.


Notes on receiving browser notifications

It's important to keep in mind the following when it comes to browser notifications for Tribe — these factors can help determine if additional steps need to be taken to ensure you are receiving Tribe notifications at the browser level:

  • Ensure that your computer operating system has notifications turned on for browsers.
  • Ensure that your notifications are turned on at the browser level.
  • Make sure that your notifications are set to either Always or When I Am Mentioned within Tribe groups. This setting is located in Group Settings by clicking the gear icon on the right side of your Tribe screen.
  • If you are already viewing Tribe when you receive a new message, you will see a red dot next to your Tribe group or chat icon instead of a browser notification. Browser notifications are pushed when you are not actively viewing your Tribe tab in your browser.

Learn more about navigating Tribe as a learner:

Did this article help?

Let us know by leaving a star rating or review at the top of this article.