Versioning separates your activities into three distinct states to support content creation workflows:
the editable version of an activity that you can Submit for Review, Approve for staging, and/or Publish to go live.
the locked version of an activity that can only be Archived. Published versions are the live activities seen by users. Each edit of a Draft, and subsequent publish, results in a new Published version.
the locked version of an activity that can only be Restored. Archived versions can help you highlight changes to the activity content as it was developed and/or updated. Restored versions are re-published, archiving all other published versions.