Skip to main content
Experience

Next-level learning management requires next-level content management and creation. Versioning empowers content creation and management in the Intellum platform by opening up your workflows to collaboration - while safeguarding your controls to publication.

Versioning brings your teams together and allows you to work on the same pieces of content - in the same platform - with workflow options that help you manage content review, content staging once approved, and finally - content publication.

Heads Up!

Speak to your Customer Success Manager or an Intellum Representative if you are interested in learning more about Versioning.

Content creators in your account can add new activities, set activity properties, and submit activities for admin review. Once submitted, Unrestricted admin can:

  • edit a draft of the activity
  • approve the activity to stage it for going live
  • publish the activity to make it live for users

To support this new workflow, versioning breaks each piece of content out into 3 distinct states:

Draft

the editable version of an activity that can be submitted for review, approved for staging, and/or published to go live.

Published

a locked version of an activity that can only be archived. Each edit of the Draft - and subsequent publish - creates a new Published version.

Archived

a locked version of an activity that can only be restored. A Restored versions are re-published, archiving all other versions.

Learn more about each version - and related details - below.

Heads Up!

Restricted admin can edit drafts, submit for approval, and approve activity versions, but cannot publish activities.

Explore | Drafts

Draft activities have three workflow statuses: Editing, In Review and Approved.

  • Edit/Editing:

    • make changes to the content in the activity, or activity properties
  • Submit for Review/In Review:

    • lock the activity to allow a collaborator to review and approve
  • Approve/Approved:

    • once reviewed, approve and lock the activity before publishing

Explore | Published

Publish an activity when you're ready for it to go live for users. Think - all content complete, all properties set. Only unrestricted admin can publish activities.

Publishing creates a new version of the activity in a locked state. Published versions of an activity can only be archived. Each time you publish a new version of a draft, the platform automatically archives all previous versions.


Explore | Archived & Restore

Archive a published activity to lock it and make it inactive in your catalog. Restore an archived version to re-publish the activity and make it live again.

Heads Up!

Draft activities cannot be archived but can be made inactive using the Status property. Deactivating a draft archives the Published activity and makes the Draft locked and inactive.

Explore | Launch as Student

You can launch Draft or Published versions of an activity in learner view to see exactly what users will see when the content goes live. Enrollments resulting from launching a Draft are highlighted as such across the platform.

Admin can use the Launch as Student link to view Draft or Published activities in learner view.

Explore | Versioning Updates

The following functionality is specific to accounts with versioning enabled.

Content Properties & Locked States

The content of an activity and its properties can only changed by editing a draft of the activity. Changes have to be published to take effect on the live activity.

Content editing and properties are disabled for versions in a locked state:

  • Status - The status field on Published/Archived activities is replaced by archive and restore workflow

  • Code - The uniqueness constraint for Code has been removed, meaning clients will need to ensure uniqueness

  • Restricted Admin - Only displayed on the Draft version. Changes are made in real time without publishing

  • Group Restrictions - Can only be added at the activity-level; you cannot add activity restrictions through group Properties

  • Facilitator - Only displayed on the Draft version. Changes are made in real time without publishing

  • Scheduled Activity - Unavailable for accounts with versioning (MVP)


Paths & Collections

When creating a new Path, draft versions of the activities are added to the path. When a draft path is Published, the draft activities within are Published. The same logic applies to paths within Collections.


Topics

Only published activities can be ordered within a topic. Topics can be added at the activity-level; you cannot add activities through topic Properties. Topic changes made to a draft only take effect when the course is published.